School District of West Salem Special Board Meeting Minutes January 9, 2014 Marie Heider Meeting Room – 7:00 p.m.

Convene

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Vice President Thomas Helgeson. The meeting was noticed to the Coulee News, La Crosse Tribune, WLSU Radio 89 FM, WXOW TV-19, WKBT-TV, WKTY, WIZM, Union State Bank, First Community Credit Union, St. Joe Country Market, River Bank-Barre Mills, West Salem Post Office, Village of West Salem, posted at each school, district web site, and district office on January 2, 2014. This meeting was at the request of a board member.

Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag

Ken Schlimgen led everyone in the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance and Thomas Helgeson recited the District Mission Statement.

Roll Call

Present: Syl Clements, Jane Halverson, Thomas Helgeson, Ken Schlimgen, and Scott Scafe. Also in attendance – Administrators: Troy Gunderson, Dean Buchanan, John Smalley, and Michael St. Pierre; Student representatives: Kaitlin Brueggen and Zachary Lang. Finance Director: Davita Molling. Recording secretary: Patrick Bahr. Excused: Tom Ward, Jason Falck, Eric Jensen, Mark Carlson, Mike Malott, and Lisa Gerke.

Approval of Agenda

Mrs. Halverson moved, Mr. Scafe seconded to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Discussion/Action Items:

Nick Hildebrandt from StruXture Architects, via teleconference, reviewed the estimated project costs for the grades 4-8 building.

Brian Brewer, RW Baird Managing Director, reviewed the current debt and project cost projections.

John Smalley left at 6:43 p.m.

Brian Brewer also reviewed the draft resolutions for the 2014 referendum questions.

Mr. Helgeson welcomed the motion for closed session: The Board will discuss, consider and, if appropriate, take action pursuant to Wis. Stats §19.85(1) (c) "Considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility" regarding the superintendent's evaluation.

Mr. Clements moved, Mrs. Halverson seconded that the Board convene in closed session at 7:49
p.m. A roll vote was taken: Mr. Scafe Aye, Mr. Helgeson Aye, Mr. Clements Aye, Mrs.
Halverson Aye, and Mr. Schlimgen Aye. Motion carried unanimously.
Closed Session

Ciosed Session	
Adjournment Mr. Falck moved, Mr. Scafe	seconded to adjourn at 9:05 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.
Respectfully submitted,	
	 .
Jason Falck, Clerk	Patrick Bahr, Deputy Clerk